Kris Holechek’s Ultimate Brownies (modified)

Gooey, sweet, vegan chocolate brownies

Next on my list of brownie delights was a recipe I found in the book “The 100 Best Vegan Baking Recipes” by Kris Holechek lent from a vegan friend of mine. Any recipe which is called ‘The Ultimate Brownies’ is up for a challenge. Therefore I just had  to try these. What i am posting here is actually a Britishised and slightly modified recipe of the original. To be honest it’s quite rare that I follow a recipe line for line. One reason for this recipe being that I have great difficulty measuring out six tablespoons of margarine (who measures margarine in tablespoons?!). So here’s my modified recipe:

  • 60g dark chocolate
  • 100g magarine (I used Vitalite)
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp ground flax seed
  • 1/2 tbsp ground chia seed
  • 80ml water
  • 200g sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence or better use 1/2 a vanilla bean
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 90g dark chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 175oC fan. Grease and line a small tray (I used a 7×9.5″ tray). On a side note, these trays from Ikea are amazing. We have the full set. I’ve personally given up on most non-stick products.
  2. Melt the chocolate (not the chips), margarine and cocoa powder over a bain marie.
  3. Add the chia and flax seeds to the water in a large bowl, allow to sit for 5 minutes, then whisk well with a hand mixer for a couple of minutes.
  4. Add the melted chocolate and whisk for another few minutes until well mixed.
  5. Add the sugar and vanilla essence and mix well ensuring the sugar has started to dissolve into the mixture.
  6. Add the flour and baking powder beating well for a few minutes to incorporate more air bubbles.
  7. Finally stir in the chocolate chips.
  8. Transfer to your greased tray and bake in the oven for about 32 minutes. Use a knife round the edge of the tray as soon as they come out the oven because these are sticky beasts.
  9. Cool in the pan for a while, cut into squares – I got 12, before transferring to a cooling wrack.
  10. Keep an eye on the cat.

 

2016-05-14 10.43.45
So… who’s getting the ones on the right?

These were really easy to make. Slightly more washing up than Jamie Oliver recipe but that’s mainly because I was trying to convert to British baking units. Most vegans will have all those ingredients. Next time I want to cut down on the sugar because these are just a bit too sweet for me. However the texture was pretty much fantastic – they were soft, gooey, melt in the mouth with a lovely crispy top. They have a slightly strange chewy base and I think that reducing the sugar a little may help with that. I would suggest dropping it to 150g.

2016-05-14 10.48.54

I did forget to grease the liner paper before I baked these but they separated OK. There’s always something. A little stuck but nothing too detrimental. So verdict time:

  1. Cakiness: 6
  2. Gooiness: 9
  3. Crispy top: 9
  4. Chocolateyness: 8.5
  5. Sweetness: 6 (too sweet for me but you may like it)
  6. Ease of making: 8
  7. Ingredient complexity: 8.5
  8. Overall taste: 8

I will no doubt be making these again unless another recipe usurps them! I want to try dropping the sugar and see what impact that has on them. Let me know how you get on if you try it.

In fact I’m editing this a few days on and I must say there brownies are pretty darn good. They keep well too which is always a bonus….if they get that far….

 

 

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

