These Falafel Patties are Amazeballs

MDM's Butterbean, Coriander and Parsley Falafel Patties with Veg Relish

I had this really strong urge to make falafels on Saturday. Now I don’t know about you but I’ve never really come across a bought falafel, be it ready made or in packet form, which floats my boat. I find they all taste a little, weird. Maybe they have too much cumin in, maybe they are two dry, I don’t know. They just don’t taste right.

And now that I’ve made my own I’m not sure I will ever need to buy one ever again. They are soooo easy to make and soooo tasty. I actually ended up making two recipes – here is the first.

Firstly I looked up a recipe as one usually does and I realised that for once I actually had all the ngredients. Then I looked for chickpeas. As I looked through the cans of beans I wasn’t sure if I would find a can. I did but something within me thought, “but I want to use something different.” So as is the usual story with most of my cooking I kinda loosely followed the recipe but not really.

The mixture actually turned out a bit wet which is why I’ve called them patties, but say no more to dry tasteless falafels because these are the bees knees. So here we go:

MDM’s Butterbean, Coriander and Parsley Falafel Patties

  • One 400g tin of butterbeans drained and rinsed (240g beans)
  • 20g of wholemeal crisprolls (I’m sure toasted wholemeal breadcrumbs would be fine, I just didn’t have any)
  • 3 tbsp plain flour
  • 1 medium white onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 large tbsp ground cumin
  • good bunch of fresh parsley
  • good bunch of fresh coriander
  • 2 tsp of homemade lemon-infused olive oil (you could use a shop bought alternative)
  • salt and pepper to taste
2016-05-14 13.16.14
Add all ingredients to a food processor
  1. Put everything into a food processor and blitz until ingredients are well-combined.
  2. Once smooth-ish put in the fridge for hour to let everything infuse. You could probably skip this step if you are tight for time. I used it to make another batch.
  3. Heat a large frying pan or wok with a little vegetable oil. Form mixture into small balls. Press slightly as you place on the heat. Cook for around 15 minutes turning a few times. I flattened them down as I made them to help them cook.
  4. Serve with a fresh veg relish. I used beetroot, tomatoes, celery and cucumber.
2016-05-14 14.41.00
Perfect for a sunny spring day
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

