Super Tasty Homemade Applesauce

So I was on a baking extravaganza a week Saturday. I made this super tasty applesauce to make it easier to make vegan cakes. I looked up recipes online but just ended up making it up. Here’s my recipe and it is absolutely delicious. I could eat it on its own. It did kinda remind me of baby food – but that’s no bad thing right? Great in sandwiches, with dessert, with salads, breakfast, with falafels and burgers…..

  • 3x Bramley cooking apples
  • a cinnamon stick
  • a good few shakes of grated nutmeg
  • about 150mls water
  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  1. Peel, core and slice the apples.
  2. Put enough water in a pan to cover the base by about 1/2cm. You don’t want it too wet but you also don’t want the apples to stick to the base of the pan.
  3. Add the sliced apples. Start to cook down for 5-10 minutes.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients.
  5. Cook on a low heat for around 20 minutes, stirring regularly until almost all the apple has become mushy.
  6. Take off the heat to cool a little. Remove the cinnamon stick.
  7. Mash well until mixture becomes smooth. You could of course keep it lumpy if you like but I wanted an even texture for baking.

I didn’t add any extra sugar as I would prefer to control this in the recipe I use it in. I didn’t think it needed any anyway. I put some in a jar in the fridge and some in measured quantities in the freezer.

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

