Vegan Brownies from ‘Ms Cupcake’

I’m feeling lost now that I haven’t blogged in a week! The reason being I’ve been head first into my literature review first draft. However I was so excited to get the book: Ms Cupcakes – The Naughtiest Cakes in Town that I took an hour this afternoon to try my first recipe from it – the brownies.

I wasn’t intending to include any cocoa powder based recipes in my Quest for the Perfect Vegan Brownie but this one is an exception (and there may be more). I must admit, I wasn’t sure that it can be a proper brownie if it doesn’t have ‘proper chocolate.’ So I’m including this with caution.

You’ll have to buy the book for the recipe 😉 but for me its worth it (the other recipes look yum) because this is a deliciously light chocolate cake with a nice hint of fudginess . And yes I would call it that. I would call it a really great tray cake rather than a brownie.

 

I’m definitely going to make it again as a cake or muffins with creamy chocolate frosting with nuts, or maybe some crystallized orange peel and cinnamon icing and for that purpose I think it would be awesome. It’s such a light mixture for being vegan. I’m really looking forwards to trying other recipes in the book. And I may also try it again if I don’t have any chocolate around, which, is rare. I guess in the interests of repeatability one should try it again! If you’re more cake-brownie inclined then it’s a good one for you. For the chocolate-fudgy-indulgence-brownie you will need to look elsewhere, like here.

20160612_183447_Richtone(HDR)
Ms Cupcakes’ brownies – pretty moist
20160612_183518_Richtone(HDR)
Top down view – I love the chocolate chips on top.

Here’s the important bit:

  1. Cakiness: 9
  2. Gooiness: 6
  3. Crispy top: 6 (the same as you would get on a sponge)
  4. Chocolateyness: 5 (the chips on top helped though)
  5. Sweetness: 8 (despite a whole heap of sugar, these were pretty spot on)
  6. Ease of making: 9 (no melting of chocolate required!)
  7. Ingredient complexity: 8
  8. Overall taste: 7.5 (taste was pretty good, just weren’t quite brownies)

 

Interested in the others I’ve made so far for comparison? Click on these links!

 

Just thought I’d end with one of the hazards of photographing with someone who hasn’t had their supper yet….

20160612_183328
Baking + Cat = Cat – Baking

Got a recipe to suggest – let me know!

Annette

5 Comments

  1. I disagree wholeheartedly. These brownies are excellent and have had rave reviews from my friends & Rugby u12s (after 2 hours out the oven and 18 hours out too)

    Like

    1. Hi Michaela, glad to hear you had great success with them. Always great to hear someone elses opinion of them. I should try them again. Sometimes how they turn out depends on what side of the bed I get up on ;p chocolate though is definitely very important to how they turn out – what did you use?

      Like

Leave a Reply

