Vegan Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cupcakes

…with Chocolate Avocado Frosting…

This was the first vegan cupcake recipe I made from Ms Cupcake: The Naughtiest Vegan Cakes in Town. I did make the cocoa brownies earlier which you can read all about here. This is one of my go to recipe books at the mo and I’m having fun working through them all.

20160612_162204
Excellent Vegan Cupcake Book 🙂

I made the cupcakes as per the recipe and they were sooo good. They were really light and fluffy and chocolatey and peanutty. They weren’t heavy or stodgy at all.


The icing on the other hand, I decided I wanted to try and make chocolate avocado icing. Here’s the recipe I ‘developed’ for that, roughly.

Chocolate Avocado Frosting

  • 85g avocado (half a medium one)
  • 40g vegan margarine
  • 100g chocolate
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 100g icing sugar plus extra if too liquid
  • dairy free milk (I used soya) to make more runny if neccessary
  1. Melt chocolate over bain marie and cool a little before using.
  2. Mush up avocado.
  3. Add milk to cocoa powder in a small bowl.
  4. Combine everything together including margarine and icing sugar. Mix until smooth and add milk as required. Add more icing sugar if it’s too runny.

TBH I followed a recipe from elsewhere but it ended up too runny and I made too much icing because of that. If you only have half the above ingredients I think you will still have plenty for 12 cakes. The above should work if you fancy trying to make “Chocolate Avocado Frosting.”

However I wasn’t overly fond of this icing. Others have said it tastes great but to me it tastes quite a lot like chocolate icing and avocados….I’m not going to do it again. It was edible, there was just a strong after taste of avocado!


I did have an oopsy moment when I was ‘supposed’ to put the peanut butter under the icing but forgot so instead I dabbed a line across the centre of the cakes. Then I took a cocktail stick and drew it across the cake each time going in the opposite direction to the last to make a zig zag effect. I thought they turned out alright for a random cake decoration idea! You could also try this effect with some white icing.

20160616_201822
How to make a zig-zag pattern.

 

They went down pretty well with my ‘guinea pigs’ though I won’t be presenting avocado icing any time soon.

20160616_201943
Chocolate and Peanut Butter Vegan Cupcake with Chocolate Avocado Frosting

Laters, Annette

6 Comments

    1. Thanks 🙂 They did taste pretty good save for the slightly weird avocado icing 😉 I’ve never really thought of putting peanut butter in cupcakes before. Why, I don’t really know, cos it’s so good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

