Vegan Brownies – The Minimalist Baker

So, today’s brownies on my quest are brought to you by The Minimalist Baker and a Bombay Sapphire Gin and Tonic. They have simple ingredients, are easy to make and taste satisfyingly good…..separately that is 😛

I decided to make one large tray bake rather than individual cakes as on the recipe as linked above. Therefore I doubled the recipe to fill a 7×11″ tray, though I did end up cooking it for a similar time, just a couple of minutes longer.

Technically, I will admit, these weren’t entirely vegan as I had didn’t have enough Vitalite left to make the full double recipe. This meant I had to supplement this margarine with 1/4 cup of Stork which I’m trying to use up (it has a little buttermilk in it). I would probably have used oil but as I said I don’t want it to go to waste.

The mixture was a a lot thicker than I’m used to having and it did seem quite oily at this stage. I added 1/3 cup of roasted, chopped, mixed nuts and 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips. I like to roast nuts before I use them in baking as it seems to release so much more flavour and aromatics.

20160624_172919

As for the taste of these babies, they are completely different from the other ones I’ve made. These have a much darker intense flavour which I really like but the consistency is not quite right. They are too crumbly and dare I say it, not sweet enough, although very only just. The mixture was thick and I suspect that there are too much flax seeds in this recipe to be more fudgy. Using oil rather than margarine may also help in reducing the crumblyness. I don’t want to say I don’t like them as they have a depth of flavour which is not in the others which is worth giving strong credit. These would be good for someone who doesn’t like sweet brownies and prefers a crumblier, cakier option. However I personally won’t be making the recipe again as it is but I will be taking the depth of flavour on board.

20160624_190013_Richtone(HDR)

 

So for the final voting:

  1. Cakiness: 8
  2. Gooiness: 5
  3. Crispy top: 6 (the same as you would get on a sponge)
  4. Chocolateyness: 9 (it was a deep, dark chocolate flavour)
  5. Sweetness: 6
  6. Ease of making: 9
  7. Ingredient complexity: 8
  8. Overall taste: 7.5 (depth of flavour was great but they were too crumbly)

What recipe should I try next?

Annette x

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

