Extra Refreshing Water

Infused water idea

So I saw this idea of Infused Water on another blog I follow: The Homemaker’s Life

Never really thought of trying it before but now I’m hooked!

Here’s my version with lemon, mint and a pinch of ginger. I have since gone on to add apple (adding lemon helps prevent it browning), raspberries, wild strawberries, plums….what am I going to add next?

Orange I think 🙂

Lemon, ginger and mint infused water
Lemon, ginger and mint infused water

I find it best after leaving in the fridge overnight. Also once I’ve drunk them I refill them a couple of times, and then you can eat the fruit afterwards too – no waste!

Finally I’ll end with this wonderful pompom Dahlia I have flowering at the moment. Unfortunately I can’t remember the variety.

20160701_171305

7 Comments

  1. I think cucumber and mango makes an interesting taste. Perhaps some thyme and lemon? The combinations and possibilities are immense!

    Like

      1. Here is an idea, not minimalist though, I’m just not sure what type of herb to infuse with it (if any for that matter).

        AGUAS FRESCAS PARTY PUNCH (low calorie)

        1 cup seedless green grapes
        1 kiwi, peeled and sliced
        1 pound seedless watermelon, scooped into 1-inch balls
        ¼ honeydew melon, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes
        1 limes, sliced and seeded
        1 star fruit, sliced and seeded
        1 pink grapefruit, seeded, sliced, and quartered
        32 oz spring water
        1 cup white cranberry juice

        Combine all the ingredients into a large pitcher and let set overnight.

        Like

      2. For some reason (not quite sure why) sage comes to mind but just a little ….and pineapple mint…and root/stem ginger although not necessarily all of those! The recipe sounds very refreshing with a floral aspect from the melons and a zingy ness from the citrus fruits so was wondering how to march that.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. All good herb suggestions! I’ve never tried sage before in aquas frescas, but that would add an interesting depth of flavor. Just one note, and you probably already know this. From experience I’ve learned you should always remove the rind from the citrus if you’re not going to drink it right away. Unless of course you like pithy flavors. Just a reminder.

        Like

Leave a Reply

