Vegan Victoria Sponge – Another Challenge?

Another staple of the ‘normal’ cake baking world which indulges in eggs and dairy is the classic ‘Victoria Sponge.’ Whereas I have my challenge for ‘The Perfect Vegan Brownie’ I have not embarked on such a one for this classic.

I may have to though because the recipe I used the other day was OK, but I wouldn’t feel happy serving it up to any guests. Though as I speak several runners maybe indulging in the left overs….

It tasted…..different. Not bad but not great either. It needs work so therefore I may embark on another challenge of ‘The Perfect Vegan-toria Sponge…..’

This one was a recipe from Ms Cupcake: The Naughtiest Vegan Cakes in Town.

20160707_211303
Vegan victoria sponge cake with strawberry jam and coconut icing
20160707_211500
A slice of vegan victoria sponge cake
Close up of the inside of a vegan victoria sponge cake
Close up of the inside of a vegan victoria sponge cake

I was definitely impressed with how light and cake-like it was but it didn’t really taste like victoria sponge. It just tasted like a slightly weird cake. Don’t get me wrong it wasn’t bad I just think there is room for improvement. It needs something to replace the richness of the eggs and I’m not sure what that is yet…

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

